One Day at a Time . . .

Every day I worry this will be the day my dog will not be able to get up, this will be the day his back end gives out completely, and every day my dog struggles, but still manages to come out ahead.  He may slip and fall, he may wobble, he may shake.  But he still gets excited when it is time for a walk, and he still tries to spin in circles, and he still tries to forge ahead on the leash.  He is still living life, and I am trying to help him enjoy that life.

Living with a dog with mobility issues is exhausting.  Going for a walk is not just putting on his leash and making sure I have a poop bag anymore.  It is putting on his boots, strapping on his harness, getting him into a cart, and then making sure he does not try to pee on a tree and tip the cart over (because he will!).  Then we get home and I have to unstrap him and take off the harness, and the boots, and follow him into the living room making sure he does not tumble before he gets to the carpet.  I put medicine on the scrapes on his feet, and give him his medicine.  And make sure he got water and is comfortable.  I am tired, and I miss the days of grabbing a leash and going, but if he can do it, so can I.

Leave a Reply

